WPI-SKCM² Summer School at (HU)² + joint WPI-ICReDD Research Symposium

Hokkaido University, Hiroshima University & Online

Dates: Wednesday, July 10 – Friday, Jul 19, 2024

Who: The School is mainly targeted at graduate students, and postdoctoral fellows, as well as advanced undergraduates. Early-career professionals from industry may also have interest in the topics covered in the School.

Location: Hokkaido University (WPI-ICReDD: ICReDD Bldg), Hiroshima University (WPI-SKCM2: VBL Bldg) & Online

Registration: Registration Form (Invited Speakers and WPI-SKCM2 members: Please use the Registration Forms in your invitation emails.)

Special Events: WPI-SKCM² & WPI-ICReDD Joint Research Symposium on July 11, 2024

Join us this summer for a transformative learning journey at our interdisciplinary Summer School that will take place at two “HUs”- the first part of the program located at Hokkaido University followed by a program at Hiroshima University. 

The Summer School promises a rich educational experience, where emerging scientists will have the opportunity to engage with and learn from leading experts in the realm of knotted chiral meta matter. This event will cover a wide range of fascinating topics, encompassing topics such as metamaterials, knot theory, topological solitons, chirality, soft matter, magnets, colloids, polymers, quantum materials, biomaterials, proteins, active matter, origins of life, and energy efficiency.

The program will feature a mix of tutorial lectures to lay foundational knowledge, cutting-edge research talks to inspire innovation, and a special day dedicated to showcasing the latest research from WPI-SKCM² and WPI-ICReDD, Hokkaido University’s WPI Institute.

To foster a vibrant community of interdisciplinary dialogue, we will host poster sessions where participants can share their work, gain new insights, and spark potential collaborations. Beyond the scientific program, attendees will also have the chance to learn about culture and history as well as experience the beauty and excitement of Sapporo, Hokkaido. 

Tentative Program

Program Schedule

Hokkaido University portion of the program

  • Wednesday, July 10: Summer School afternoon only
  • Thursday, July 11: Research Exchange Symposium & Mixer 9:00-20:00
  • Friday, July 12: Summer School
  • Saturday, July 13: Summer School
  • Sunday, July 14: Summer School
  • Monday, July 15: Summer School
  • Tuesday, July 16: Summer School morning only; afternoon return to Hiroshima U

Hiroshima University portion of the program

  • Wednesday, July 17: Summer School
  • Thursday, July 18: Summer School
  • Friday, July 19: Summer School

Invited Speakers

  • Fabien B. L. Cougnon (University of Jyväskylä)
  • Ingo Dierking (Manchester University)
  • Marjolein Dijkstra (Utrecht University)
  • Claire Donnelly (Max Planck Institute)
  • Jörn Dunkel (MIT)
  • Nikta Fakhri (MIT)
  • Shanhui Fan (Stanford U)
  • Bruno Frka-Petesic (University of Cambridge)
  • Prasanna S. Ghalsasi (The Maharaja Sayajirao University of Baroda)
  • Jian Ping Gong (Hokkaido U)
  • Takeharu Haino (Hiroshima University)
  • Yasuchika Hasegawa (Hokkaido U)
  • Ulrich Höfer (Philipps-Universität Marburg)
  • Shang-Te Danny Hsu (Academia Sinica)
  • Katsuya Inoue (Hiroshima University)
  • Hajime Ito (Hokkaido U)
  • Tamas Kalman (Tokyo Tech)
  • Akio Kimura (Hiroshima University)
  • Yuya Koda (Keio University)
  • Yuka Kotorii (Hiroshima University)
  • Kenta Kuroda (Hiroshima University)
  • Reiko Kuroda (University of Chubu)
  • Andrey Leonov (Hiroshima University)
  • Satoshi Maeda (Hokkaido U)
  • Boris Malomed (Tel Aviv University)
  • Elisabetta Matsumoto (Georgia Tech)
  • Alenka Mertelj (Jožef Stefan Institute, University of Ljubljana, Slovenia)
  • Pierangelo Metrangolo (Politecnico di Milano)
  • Nobuyoshi Miyamoto (Fukuoka Institute of Technology)
  • Shuichi Murakami (Tokyo Institute of Technology)
  • Inasa Nakamura (Saga University)
  • Muneto Nitta (Keio University)
  • Chiho Nonaka (Hiroshima University)
  • Yuta Nozaki (Yokohama National University)
  • Colin Nuckolls (Columbia University)
  • Pawel Pieranski (University of Paris Saclay)
  • Carlos Sánchez Somolinos (University of Zaragoza – CSIC)
  • Chihiro Sasaki (University of Wroclaw)
  • Hiroshi Sato (Hiroshima University)
  • Kenta Shigaki (Hiroshima University)
  • Koya Shimokawa (Ochanomizu University)
  • Ivan Smalyukh (University of Colorado Boulder)
  • Mykola Tasinkevych (University of Lisbon)
  • William E. Uspal (University of Hawaii at Manoa)
  • Hikaru Yabuta (Hiroshima University)
  • Kyota Yasuda (Hiroshima University)
  • Ye Yuan (Hiroshima University)

Scientific Organizing Committee

Ivan Smalyukh, Shin-ichi Tate, Akio Kimura

Back to List